Welcome Back

“After closing our doors on 16 March and ‘going dark’ for longer than any of us would ever have imagined; we’re delighted to be able to welcome you back into our theatres. Our wonderful staff have been working hard to make sure you feel safe, comfortable and secure as you return to the joy of live performance; from socially distanced seating plans for shows this summer to regular deep cleaning. As we move out of restrictions, we're looking forward to a full programme of events this autumn, bringing you all the thrilling variety and entertainment which Capital Theatres is famous for. It's been a long haul, treat yourself to a trip to the theatre, we can't wait to welcome you."

Fiona Gibson, CEO, Capital Theatres

brochure header (3).png

Season Highlights

TELL ME ON A SUNDAY WEB_TITLE_1200 X 1200_13.04.21.jpg

King's Theatre

Musical

Tue 14 Sep to Sat 18 Sep 2021

GUT19011_EDIN_1200x1200pxls2.jpg

King's Theatre

Comedy

Tue 28 Sep to Sat 02 Oct 2021

GREASE_1200 X 1200_02.04.21.jpg

Festival Theatre

Musical

Mon 27 Sep to Sat 02 Oct 2021

B+B_EDINB-1200x1200-TITLE[1].jpg

Festival Theatre

Musical

Wed 19 Jan to Sun 23 Jan 2022

ADDAMS_THM 1200 X 1200_1189422.png

Festival Theatre

Musical

Tue 25 Jan to Sat 29 Jan 2022

LION WITCH_THM 1200 X 1200_1189418.png

King's Theatre

Family

Tue 08 Feb to Sat 12 Feb 2022

Cur_1000x700.jpg

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Tue 22 - Sat 26 Feb 2022

The National Theatre's Olivier and Tony Award®-winning production returns

BIO_Edinburgh_1200x1200_withTT.jpg

Festival Theatre

Musical

Tue 15 Feb to Sat 19 Feb 2022

SIX Thumbnail Title.jpg

Festival Theatre

SIX

Musical

Tue 15 Mar to Sat 26 Mar 2022

Jamie thumbnail.jpg

Festival Theatre

Musical

Tue 29 Mar to Sat 02 Apr 2022

COVID-19 Guidance - feeling safe in our theatres

Find out how we've adapted our venues

Coming Up This Summer

Falstaff © James Glossop 1200x1200.jpg

Festival Theatre

Opera

Sun 08 Aug to Sat 14 Aug 2021

sloss thumb.jpg

Festival Theatre

Comedy

Sat 21 Aug 2021

banff 2021 thumb.jpg

Festival Theatre

Screening

Wed 01 Sep & Thu 02 Sep 2021

TWO FRIENDS SMALL.jpg

Become a Friend

Support your local theatre and see more of what you love for less.

Musicals to Sing About

slo thumb.jpg

Festival Theatre

Musical

Thu 09 Sep to Sat 11 Sep 2021

ddthumb.jpg (1)

Festival Theatre

Musical

Mon 08 Nov to Sat 13 Nov 2021

BIO_Edinburgh_1200x1200_withTT.jpg

Festival Theatre

Musical

Tue 15 Feb to Sat 19 Feb 2022

ROCKY 2021_EDINBURGH THUMBNAIL 1200w x 1200h (WITH TITLE).jpg

King's Theatre

Musical

Mon 21 Feb to Sat 26 Feb 2022

FF_1080x1080_Generic.jpg

Festival Theatre

Musical

Mon 07 Mar to Sat 12 Mar 2022

thumbnail 1200x1200_title.jpg (1)

King's Theatre

Musical

Tue 12 Apr to Sat 16 Apr 2022

Singin in the Rain shared link.jpg

Singin' In the Rain

Tue 26 to Sat 30 April 2022

A smash-hit at Chichester Festival Theatre and in the West End, Jonathan Church’s critically acclaimed production of Singin’ in the Rain is back to make a splash in 2022.

7102_01_SA_Edinburgh_1200x1200.jpg

Festival Theatre

Musical

Tue 06 Sep to Sat 17 Sep 2022

Osmonds thumbnail.jpg

Festival Theatre

Musical

Tue 20 Sep to Sat 24 Sep 2022

7092_19_CHER_Edinburgh_Thumb_ImgTT_1200x1200.jpg

Festival Theatre

Musical

Tue 11 Oct to Sat 15 Oct 2022

The Best of Drama

LGD-Edinburgh-1200x1200-(with-title)-NEW.jpg (1)

King's Theatre

Drama

Tue 05 Oct to Sat 09 Oct 2021

Woman in Black thumbnail title.jpg

King's Theatre

Drama

Tue 12 Oct to Sat 16 Oct 2021

PGWT21008_EDIN_1200x1200pxls2.jpg

King's Theatre

Drama

Tue 02 Nov to Sun 07 Nov 2021

masthead 1000x700.jpg (1)

The Enemy

Wed 20 - Sat 23 Oct 2021

A radical re-imagining of the classic Henrik Ibsen play about truth, power and deception from Kieran Hurley and the National Theatre of Scotland

Sleepy Hollow Thumbnail.jpg

King's Theatre

Drama

Mon 08 Nov to Sat 13 Nov 2021

Fatal-Ebg-1200x1200px.jpg

King's Theatre

Drama

Tue 01 Feb to Sat 05 Feb 2022

Cur_1200x1200_TT.jpg

Festival Theatre

Drama

Tue 22 Feb to Sat 26 Feb 2022

sheila's island thumbnail.jpg

King's Theatre

Drama

Tue 01 Mar to Sat 05 Mar 2022

6027_04_DaVinci_Edinburgh_1200x1200_NoTitle.jpg

King's Theatre

Drama

Tue 05 Apr to Sat 09 Apr 2022

Murder is Announced Thumb.jpg

King's Theatre

Drama

Tue 03 May to Sat 07 May 2022

Keepers of the Light thumbnail.jpg

The Studio

Drama

Fri 06 May & Sat 07 May 2022

Cluedo 1200x1200_.jpg

King's Theatre

Drama

Tue 10 May to Sat 14 May 2022

Wuthering Heights thumbnail-min.jpg

King's Theatre

Drama

Tue 24 May to Sat 28 May 2022

Fun for the whole Family

ITNG_1200x1200_1296850_OCT20.jpg

Festival Theatre

Family

Fri 24 Sep to Sat 25 Sep 2021

LION WITCH_THM 1200 X 1200_1189418.png

King's Theatre

Family

Tue 08 Feb to Sat 12 Feb 2022

Peppa Pig thumbnail.jpg

King's Theatre

Family

Sat 23 Apr to Sun 24 Apr 2022

jungle_kings_1200x1200_title.jpg

King's Theatre

Family

Sun 05 Jun 2022

ZATFD_Edinburgh_1200x1200_title.jpg

Festival Theatre

Family

Sat 09 Jul to Wed 13 Jul 2022

Allan Stewart and the ensemble in Goldilocks Photo Douglas Robertson.jpg

Sleeping Beauty

Sat 27 Nov 2021 - Sun 17 Jan 2022

The Panto of your dreams! With over 90,000 people attending the King’s Panto each festive season it’s never too early to book!

Strictly Dance

Burn the floor new.jpg

Festival Theatre

Dance

Sun 09 Jan 2022

remembering thumb.jpg

Festival Theatre

Dance

Sun 27 Mar 2022

johannes square.jpg

King's Theatre

Dance

Sun 17 Apr 2022

Oti Mabuse thumbnail 1200.jpg

Festival Theatre

Dance

Sun 08 May 2022

SP DANCERS_1200 X 1200.jpg

Festival Theatre

Dance

Sun 29 May 2022

square no logo.jpg

Festival Theatre

Dance

Fri 01 Jul 2022

lorentsocial.jpg

balletLORENT: The Lost Happy Endings

15 & 16 September 2021

An original story by Carol Ann Duffy retold as dance theatre for family.

What happens when the Happy Endings are stolen?

Dance

1080x1080.png

Festival Theatre

Dance

Thu 16 Sep to Sat 18 Sep 2021

tavaziva thumb.jpg

The Studio

Dance

Fri 08 Oct 2021

Innovations May 2021 Image 1200 x 1200.jpg

The Studio

Dance

Fri 15 Oct 2021

Ballet Black thumbnail.jpg

Festival Theatre

Dance

Thu 18 Nov 2021

Thumbnail with title.jpg

King's Theatre

Dance

Fri 28 Jan 2022

Mayerling_Edinburgh_1200x1200_IMAGETEXT.jpg

Festival Theatre

Dance

Thu 26 May to Sat 28 May 2022

AR2_2247.jpg

Scottish Ballet's The Nutcracker

Wed 1 - Fri 31 Dec 2021

Costumes plucked from the most gorgeous chocolate box; Tchaikovsky’s score to transport you to a land of dreams; and a story lifted straight from the pages of a classic fairy tale.

Comedy

sloss thumb.jpg

Festival Theatre

Comedy

Sat 21 Aug 2021

Paul Smith thumbnail.jpg

Festival Theatre

Comedy

Sat 04 Sep 2021

Phil Wang .jpg

King's Theatre

Comedy

Sun 26 Sep 2021

tim minchin masthead.jpg

Tim Minchin: Back

Sun 17 Oct 2021

The award-winning comedian, actor and composer has confirmed new UK dates of his BACK tour this autumn.

Gary Meikle thumbnail.jpg

King's Theatre

Comedy

Sun 24 Oct 2021

eric ern.jpg

Festival Theatre

Comedy

Mon 15 Nov 2021

NL Janey Godley_ soup pot tour.jpg

Festival Theatre

Comedy

Fri 19 Nov 2021

Ross Noble thumbnail.jpg

Festival Theatre

Comedy

Sat 15 Jan 2022

Round the Horne thumbnail.jpg

King's Theatre

Comedy

Sat 29 Jan 2022

ELECTRIC-1080x1080 (1).jpg

King's Theatre

Comedy

Sun 20 Feb 2022

hannah gadbsy thumb.jpg

Festival Theatre

Comedy

Sun 13 Mar 2022

Allan Thumb (1).jpg

King's Theatre

Variety

Tue 29 Mar to Sat 02 Apr 2022

Iiain Stirling thumbnail 1200.jpg

King's Theatre

Comedy

Sun 10 Apr 2022

JC TERRIBLY FUNNY TOUR IMAGE BORDER LARGE.jpg

Festival Theatre

Comedy

Sun 24 Apr 2022

Xanadu_200x200.jpg

Festival Theatre

Comedy

Sun 01 May 2022

stewart lee thumbnail.jpg

Festival Theatre

Comedy

Sun 19 Jun 2022

FA_200x200.jpg

Festival Theatre

Comedy

Mon 20 Jun 2022

sandi thumb.jpg

Festival Theatre

Comedy

Mon 27 Jun 2022

SarahM_BD_2021_Square 1200 x 1200.jpg

Festival Theatre

Comedy

Sat 02 Jul & Sun 03 Jul 2022

Spoken Word

Val McDermid 1080 x 1080.png

Festival Theatre

Spoken Word

Thu 02 Sep 2021

Yotam thumbnail.jpg

Festival Theatre

Spoken Word

Fri 17 Sep 2021

Levison Wood 1200 x 1200.jpg

King's Theatre

Spoken Word

Thu 23 Sep 2021

Nick Butter thumbnail.jpg

The Studio

Spoken Word

Sat 06 Nov 2021

Dick & Angel Dare to Do it Thumbnail.jpg

Festival Theatre

Spoken Word

Mon 07 Feb & Tue 08 Feb 2022

Sopranos 1200x1200 image&tour title.jpg

Festival Theatre

Spoken Word

Tue 21 Jun 2022

Donate and make a difference today

Help us continue to inspire a lifelong love of theatre in everyone by donating what you can today

Music

Lost-In-Music---Square.jpg

Festival Theatre

Music

Sat 20 Nov 2021

simon & Garfunkel .jpg

Festival Theatre

Music

Fri 07 Jan 2022

PCarrack 2022.jpg

Festival Theatre

Music

Sun 06 Feb 2022

rush thumb.jpg

King's Theatre

Music

Thu 21 Apr 2022

Jools Holland thumbnail.jpg

Festival Theatre

Music

Fri 15 Jul 2022

Curtis Stigers thumbnail.jpg

Festival Theatre

Music

Sat 16 Jul 2022

In Our Yard

Family Events taking place in our courtyard this summer.

takeover thumb.jpg

In Our Yard: Family Takeovers

What better way to spend a summer Saturday than making some creative mess in our courtyard!

wee creatives thumb.jpg

In Our Yard: Wee Creatives

This summer we are delighted to be returning with Wee Creatives!

zooms thumb.jpg

In Our Yard: After Zooms

‘After Zooms’ a re-invention of our plays days is coming to across six sessions in our yard this summer.